Current Councillors

Council elections are held every four years. The last full election of Council was held on 4 November 2020, with five Councillors elected for the 2020–2024 term.

All Borough of Queenscliffe Councillors are sworn to the Councillor Code of Conduct, which has been developed to incorporate the statutory requirements specified for a Code of Conduct in accordance with section 76C of the Local Government Act 1989.

Queenscliffe Councillors 2020


Current Councillors (2020–2024 term)

Cr Ross Ebbels (Mayor)
Ph: 0427 448 160
E: ross.ebbels@queenscliffe.vic.gov.au

Portfolio: Local Economy

Cr Ross Ebbels 2020

Cr Ross Ebbels has a long and varied involvement with the local community as the former co-owner (with his wife) of two local businesses, Athelstane House and McKenzie Ebbels Food Store. He has also served as inaugural Chair and board member of Queenscliff Music Festival, and represented the Bellarine Peninsula for 14 years on the Geelong Otway Tourism Board, including six years as Chair.

The father of two daughters, both former Queenscliff Kindergarten and Queenscliff Primary School students, he has previously served on the school council, including two years as President.

Municipal Association of Victoria
Tourism Greater Geelong & the Bellarine
Rural Councils Victoria
G21 Regional Alliance Board
G21 Economic Pillar

Reference Groups
Audit and Risk Committee
CEO Performance Review Committee


Cr Donnie Grigau
Ph: 0437 842 380
E: donnie.grigau@queenscliffe.vic.gov.au

Portfolio: Community Wellbeing

Cr Donnie Grigau 2020

Cr Grigau is a local hands on business owner with strong ties to the arts & sporting community.

After a 20-plus year career in the fashion & consumer retail sector as a product developer, Cr Grigau & his husband decided to move from Melbourne to make a lifestyle change. The choice between the high country and coastal was made when a business in Hesse Street was available.

Bellarine Community Safety Group
G21 Health & Wellbeing Pillar
G21 Sport & Recreation Pillar

Reference Groups
Community Grants Advisory Reference Group


Cr Michael Grout      
Ph: 0437 118 037
E: michael.grout@queenscliffe.vic.gov.au

Portfolio: Planning and Heritage

Cr Michael Grout 2020

Cr Grout is a local resident actively involved in the local community, particularly through his association with the Queenscliffe Economic Development Advisory Committee, Point Lonsdale Civic Association, Swan Bay Environment Association, Bellarine Community Health Eric Tolliday Units Reference Group and various roles in Queenscliff Primary School, Sea Scouts and sporting clubs.

Cr Grout holds a degree in Civil Engineering, is a Training professional with twenty five years experience in training and business improvement, he is qualified and experienced in skill development, problem solving, change and improvement, safety performance and project management, using methods from one-on-one coaching to group facilitation. Cr Grout was recognised at Orica with manufacturing training awards in 2000 and at Australian Vinyls with a Victorian training award in 2006.

Geelong Queenscliffe Coastal Adaption Planning Project
G21 Planning Pillar
G21 Transport Pillar

Reference Groups
Community Grants Advisory Reference Group


Cr Fleur Hewitt
Ph: 0437 860 520
E: fleur.hewitt@queenscliffe.vic.gov.au

Portfolio: Environmental Sustainability

Cr Fleur Hewitt 2020

Cr Fleur Hewitt lives with her family in Queenscliff and attends the Queenscliff & Point Lonsdale Playgroup and the Wild Arts Forest School in Point Lonsdale with her two young girls.

Cr Hewitt holds a Bachelor of Arts and Bachelor of Laws (with Honours), and is an experienced lawyer, having worked for large national and international law firms and now as a Legal Manager for a multinational healthcare company. Her expertise is in all areas of real estate, including major transactions, leasing and construction, and she has a keen interest in planning and environmental issues.

Barwon South West Local Government Waste Forum
G21 Environment Pillar

Reference Groups
Australia Day Awards Reference Group


Cr Susan Salter
Ph: 0428 398 966
E: susan.salter@queenscliffe.vic.gov.au

Portfolio: Governance and Performance

Cr Susan Salter 2020

Cr Susan Salter has lived in Queenscliff for nearly 30 years and has been actively involved in various community organisations and groups. She served as President of the Queenscliff Neighbourhood House for 10 years.

Professionally, Cr Salter taught maths at Bellarine Secondary College (Drysdale Campus) before retiring from paid work. Many community members first met her through her various roles at the college.

Cr Salter has a particular interest in trees, especially historical and native, and has extensive experience in creating public gardens and managing public open spaces.

Geelong Regional Library Corporation Board
G21 Education & Training Pillar

Reference Groups
Audit and Risk Committee
CEO Performance Review Committee
Australia Day Awards Reference Group
Memorials & Plaques Reference Group


Previous councillors (2016–2020 term)

  • Cr Ross Ebbels
  • Cr Tony Francis (Nov 2016 to Nov 2019)
  • Cr Bob Merriman
  • Cr Rob Minty (Nov 2019 to Oct 2020)
  • Cr Boyce Pizzey
  • Cr Susan Salter